ACE’s Five Laws of Learning explained

Law #1
Student must be on a level of curriculum where he can perform

Mental maturity age vs Chronological age

A students chronological age does not necessarily mean his ability, and also a student’s performance may vary with different subjects

Mastery of concepts.

ACE offers a full scope curriculum, beginning with kindergarten and continuing through high School.

After two learning-to-read programs, the student is placed in a learning centre where he “Reads to Learn”. Focus is MASTERY of each concept.


Diagnostic test reveal the performance level of a student in each subject. Diagnostic tests are only done for students intending to join grade 2 and above.

Academic Prescription

The diagnostic test helps reveal academic gaps in the previous learning system, which are first covered before he proceeds at his performance level regardless of his chronological age.

Law #2
The student must set reasonable and appropriate goals that can be achieved in a reasonable and prescribed period of time.

PACEs (Packages of Accelerated Christian Education)

These are bite-sized, achievable material booklets published by ACE.A year’s work for each subject is divided into 12 PACEs.

There are 7 core academic subjects:

Mathematics, English, Word Building (Spelling), Literature and Creative Writing, Science, Social studies, and Bible.

Daily Goals

Students are trained to set their own goals, by so doing they take responsibility for their learning. The GOAL CARD holds the key to the child’s success.

Learning to set goals in school teaches students to set goals for every area of their lives.

Law #3.
The student must be controlled and motivated.

PACE activity controls and motivation

Each students works and gets permission to score bits of his set goals.

He scores or rescores after corrections, and can only proceed after he has got that bit correctly

Other checks are through checkups, self Tests and eventually the PACE  Test

Work completion controls and motivation

Reasonable goals are set to be completed each day.

And work not completed during day becomes homework.

Goal Check is done every morning to identify those students who may not have completed their goals.

The supervisor motivates and inspires students to achieve through love and attention to individual needs.

Law #4.
The student’s learning must be measurable.


A checkup allows a student to measure his mastery of the material in a particular section of the PACE. Pass mark 80%.

Self Tests

Its done at the end of each PACE, it’s a student’s measure of his mastery of the enitre PACE. 90% is the passmark.

PACE Tests

This is a supervisor’s measure of the student’s mastery of the entire PACE. Passmark 80%

Law #5.
The student’s learning must be rewarded.

Student Progress Chart.

A student progress Chart is placed in the his office to show how much work has been done in a year

Progress report

A student progress report is what he takes home at the end of each term.


The three unique areas of ACE

1. God-centered Education

Its Biblical Education, students memorize scriptures as they learn every day.

In addition principals and stories from the bible are woven throughout the curriculum to teach the students to see life from God’s point of view

ace_bc2. Individualized Education

God created each individual uniquely different.

True Biblical education must recognize the difference in each individual and work with each student as an individual.

Its adaptable to every child at his own level of academic ability

3. Character training

The curriculum incorporates 60 character traits which are covered through each year of study.




It is a self-paced curriculum, for Grade 0(Pre-School) to Grade 12(Pre-University), based upon five key principles of learning. These principles are fundamental for learning success and are the essential ingredients in the ACE programme.

1 A student must be working at a level of curriculum where they can perform.

2 A student must set reasonable goals that they can achieve in a specific period of time.

3 A student must be motivated and managed effectively.

4 A student’s learning must be measurable.

5 A student’s learning must be rewarded.

The ACE programme covers six core subjects: Maths, English, Wordbuilding, Literature and Creative Writing, Science and Social Studies at primary level, plus Bible and over twenty elective subjects at secondary level, which Biology Chemistry, Physics, Economics and Management Science, Business Studies, Tourism, Visual Art, Life Orientation and various languages.

Each subject is divided into bite-sized, achievable workbooks called PACEs (Package of Accelerated Christian Education). The PACE is a unit of work that takes two to three weeks to complete depending on the ability of the child.

Each subject consists of 12 PACEs at each level, from Grade 0(Pre-school) to Grade 12(Pre-University)

Each PACE has specific learning goals, objectives and intentions with a variety of learning activities and built in assessments, and at times projects designed to ensure mastery of learning and to teach students effective learning strategies. Some courses employ video sessions to enhance the learning process whilst others are supplemented with computer software programmes.

At the end of each PACE a student is required to complete a PACE Test. The student must score a minimum of 80% before being allowed to continue to the next unit of work.

The PACE forms the basis of the student’s learning, from which additional learning activities, projects, assignments, resources and enrichment activities can be built.

While a set procedure for completing a PACE needs to be followed, it by no means limits or restricts the many ways in which this excellent resource can be used to cater for the specific learning style of each child.

Individualisation: Each child receives a personal Academic Prescription that allows them to progress at their appropriate level and rate of learning. Diagnostic Testing determines the particular learning needs and requirements of each child while the ACE material allows the parent to give personal and precise assistance where necessary.

Mastery Learning: ACE provides each child with the opportunity to actually learn the material they are studying. Mastery learning is essential for educational success. A student does not move on to a new concept until they have demonstrated that they have adequately learned the immediate material.

Biblical World View: Biblical principles and concepts are interwoven into all aspects of the curriculum. Each student is taught from a biblical perspective developing critical thinking skills that will enable them to discern what is truly “…the good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2)

Character Building: The ACE curriculum presents sixty character traits of Jesus into the curriculum and presents role modelling that promotes personal integrity and character. This along with the practices and procedures, goal setting and routines, requires both parents and students to develop Godly character.

YES! The ACE curriculum is used by many thousands of Christian Schools and Home Educators throughout the world. A student at Grade 12 obtains an internationally recognised certificate, the ICCE (International Certificate of Christian Education), ICCE was benchmarked by UK NARIC as comparable with Cambridge A- Level status.

A student can also obtain Certificates at the lower significant levels like Grade 10 which enables them to join a College.

In Uganda the ICCE grades can be converted and equated to the Ugandan system, and this enables a student to join any University in the Country.